Rajasthan Mein Kitne Jile Hain: Ek Mukhya Gyan


Rajasthan, the largest state in India by area, is known for its rich history, vibrant culture, and stunning landscapes. One of the key administrative divisions of Rajasthan is its districts, known as "jile" in Hindi. Understanding the districts of Rajasthan is essential for anyone interested in the state's geography, demographics, and governance. In this article, we will explore how many districts are there in Rajasthan and delve deeper into the significance of these districts within the state's administrative framework.

The Number of Districts in Rajasthan:

As of the latest update, Rajasthan is divided into 33 districts. These districts play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state, as they serve as the local units responsible for implementing various government schemes, policies, and programs at the grassroots level.

Importance of Districts in Rajasthan:

Each district in Rajasthan is headed by a District Collector, who is responsible for coordinating the activities of various departments within the district and ensuring the efficient delivery of public services to the residents. The district administration plays a vital role in maintaining law and order, implementing development projects, and addressing the needs of the local population.

List of Districts in Rajasthan:

  1. Ajmer
  2. Alwar
  3. Banswara
  4. Baran
  5. Barmer
  6. Bharatpur
  7. Bhilwara
  8. Bikaner
  9. Bundi
  10. Chittorgarh
  11. Churu
  12. Dausa
  13. Dholpur
  14. Dungarpur
  15. Hanumangarh
  16. Jaipur
  17. Jaisalmer
  18. Jalore
  19. Jhalawar
  20. Jhunjhunu
  21. Jodhpur
  22. Karauli
  23. Kota
  24. Nagaur
  25. Pali
  26. Pratapgarh
  27. Rajsamand
  28. Sawai Madhopur
  29. Sikar
  30. Sirohi
  31. Sri Ganganagar
  32. Tonk
  33. Udaipur

Division of Rajasthan into Regions:

The districts of Rajasthan are further grouped into different regions based on their geographical proximity and cultural similarities. Some of the key regions in Rajasthan include Shekhawati, Mewar, Marwar, and Dhundhar. Each region has its unique heritage, traditions, and dialects, contributing to the diverse cultural tapestry of the state.

Challenges and Opportunities:

While the district administration plays a crucial role in the development of Rajasthan, it also faces various challenges such as inadequate infrastructural facilities, water scarcity, and poverty. However, with the government's focus on initiatives like Digital India and Smart Cities Mission, there are ample opportunities to overcome these challenges and transform the districts into hubs of growth and prosperity.


In conclusion, the 33 districts of Rajasthan form the backbone of the state's administrative setup, playing a vital role in governance, development, and service delivery. By understanding the significance of these districts and their unique characteristics, one can gain valuable insights into the diverse and dynamic nature of Rajasthan's socio-economic landscape.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs):

  1. How many districts were there in Rajasthan before the state was reorganized in 1950?
    Before the reorganization of states in 1950, Rajasthan had 19 districts.

  2. Which is the largest district in Rajasthan in terms of area?
    Jaisalmer is the largest district in Rajasthan in terms of area.

  3. Which district in Rajasthan is known for its sandstone architecture?
    Bundi district in Rajasthan is famous for its unique sandstone architecture.

  4. How is the revenue administration divided within the districts of Rajasthan?
    The revenue administration in Rajasthan is divided into tehsils, which are further sub-divided into villages for effective governance.

  5. Which district in Rajasthan is famous for its marble industry?
    Rajsamand district is renowned for its marble industry in Rajasthan.

  6. Are there any tribal districts in Rajasthan?
    Yes, districts like Banswara and Dungarpur have a significant tribal population in Rajasthan.

  7. How many municipal corporations are there in Rajasthan?
    Rajasthan has 10 municipal corporations, including Jaipur, Jodhpur, and Udaipur.

  8. Which district in Rajasthan is known for its historic forts and palaces?
    Chittorgarh district in Rajasthan is famous for its historic forts and palaces.

  9. What is the role of the District Collector in Rajasthan?
    The District Collector in Rajasthan is the head of the district administration and is responsible for overseeing various government initiatives and programs within the district.

  10. How many districts share a border with Pakistan in Rajasthan?
    In Rajasthan, Jaisalmer district shares a border with Pakistan.


  • Department of Rajasthan Administrative Reforms and Coordination
  • Rajasthan District Gazetteers

This comprehensive overview of the districts in Rajasthan sheds light on the state's diverse landscape, rich cultural heritage, and the intricate web of governance that sustains its development and progress.

More from this stream